Don't forget to Reorder for 2020 NOW!

State Sign Additional Sign Information
Alabama

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

State Does Not Provide Signs.

State required wording:

"Alabama law strictly prohibits the purchase of tobacco products by persons under the age of 19. Proof of age is required for the purchase of tobacco products."

Contact The Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control Board for more information.

See this list of contact numbers.

Contact The Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control Board for more information.

See this list of contact numbers.

Alaska

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Department of Community and Economic Development, Division of Occupational Licensing. Anchorage (907-269-8173), Fairbanks (907-451-2852), Juneau (907-465-2550).

ONLINE:   Download and print the state required Warning Sign.

HARD COPY: Department of Community and Economic Development, Division of Occupational Licensing. Anchorage (907-269-8173), Fairbanks (907-451-2852), Juneau (907-465-2550).

ONLINE:   Download and print the state required Warning Sign.

Arizona

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

NO SIGN REQUIRED

Arkansas

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Send a self addressed stamped envelope and a letter with how many signs you are requesting to: Arkansas Tobacco Control Board, 101 East Capitol Ave., Suite 401, Little Rock, AR 72201-3826.

ONLINE:  NEW 21 law sign display by Sept 1, 2019 - Download here.

HARD COPY: Send a self addressed stamped envelope and a letter with how many signs you are requesting to: Arkansas Tobacco Control Board, 101 East Capitol Ave., Suite 401, Little Rock, AR 72201-3826.

ONLINE:  NEW 21 law sign display by Sept 1, 2019 - Download here.

California

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Free signs may be obtained by contacting Tobacco Education Clearinghouse of California at 1-800-258-9090 ext. 230 or ext. 103.

ONLINE: To order a free sign, go to https://www.tecc.org/

HARD COPY: Free signs may be obtained by contacting Tobacco Education Clearinghouse of California at 1-800-258-9090 ext. 230 or ext. 103.

ONLINE: To order a free sign, go to https://www.tecc.org/

Colorado

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of Revenue, Liquor and Tobacco Enforcement Division. For a list of contact numbers, visit here.

ONLINE: Download a pdf of “Tobacco Warning Minor Sign”

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of Revenue, Liquor and Tobacco Enforcement Division. For a list of contact numbers, visit here.

ONLINE: Download a pdf of “Tobacco Warning Minor Sign”

Connecticut

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

Two possible signs are required depending upon which product(s) your store sells. For tobacco selling retailers, one state-required sign must be posted. For e-cigarette/vapor product selling retailers a different sign must be posted. Both signs must be posted if both types of products are sold. The state government has posted the NEW 21 year minimum-age signs here. 

Two possible signs are required depending upon which product(s) your store sells. For tobacco selling retailers, one state-required sign must be posted. For e-cigarette/vapor product selling retailers a different sign must be posted. Both signs must be posted if both types of products are sold. The state government has posted the NEW 21 year minimum-age signs here. 

Delaware

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY:  The Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement may deliver to retailers the new 21 year state-required sign or sticker.

Download a copy, print and post the sign.  Go to the Division's website - www.date.delaware.gov -  for their posting of a download version and other information.

HARD COPY:  The Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Enforcement may deliver to retailers the new 21 year state-required sign or sticker.

Download a copy, print and post the sign.  Go to the Division's website - www.date.delaware.gov -  for their posting of a download version and other information.

Florida

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

ONLINE: Download a pdf of required sign.

Georgia

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

ONLINE: Download a pdf of required sign

Hawaii

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY:  Obtain a sign to print here.   

Or contact the Tobacco Prevention and Education Program, The Hawaii State Department of Health:

Email: tobacco2@doh.hawaii.gov
Phone: 808-586-1430

HARD COPY:  Obtain a sign to print here.   

Or contact the Tobacco Prevention and Education Program, The Hawaii State Department of Health:

Email: tobacco2@doh.hawaii.gov
Phone: 808-586-1430

Idaho

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact IDHW-BEHAVIORAL HEALTH/SA-ADMIN, Boise, ID 83720 208-334-0642. A copy of the sign must be provided with each permit issued by the Department of Health and Welfare.

HARD COPY: Contact IDHW-BEHAVIORAL HEALTH/SA-ADMIN, Boise, ID 83720 208-334-0642. A copy of the sign must be provided with each permit issued by the Department of Health and Welfare.

Illinois

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: 

For tobacco selling retailers, post this required Surgeon's General Warning sign (based upon the law's described requirements) 

For retailers selling tobacco accessories and smoking herbs, post this required sign (based upon the law's described requirements) 

Chicago retailers must post a city government-required sign.  Get a copy here http://bit.ly/294yhXL

HARD COPY: 

For tobacco selling retailers, post this required Surgeon's General Warning sign (based upon the law's described requirements) 

For retailers selling tobacco accessories and smoking herbs, post this required sign (based upon the law's described requirements) 

Chicago retailers must post a city government-required sign.  Get a copy here http://bit.ly/294yhXL

Indiana

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

ONLINE: Download a pdf of required sign

Iowa

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

NO SIGN REQUIRED

Kansas

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of
Revenue, Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control at 785-296-7015

ONLINE: Download sign here.

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of
Revenue, Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control at 785-296-7015

ONLINE: Download sign here.

Kentucky

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of  Agriculture, Teens and Tobacco Program, at 502-573-0420

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of  Agriculture, Teens and Tobacco Program, at 502-573-0420

Louisiana

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

Contact The Louisiana office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control for more information.

To obtain a Download version of the state sign (5 options available), visit http://www.quitwithusla.org/pages/detail/131/Tobacco-Retailers 

Contact The Louisiana office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control for more information.

To obtain a Download version of the state sign (5 options available), visit http://www.quitwithusla.org/pages/detail/131/Tobacco-Retailers 

Maine

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

The required 21 year minimum-age sign must be posted by July 1, 2018.

ONLINE:  Free signs are available at www.mainepreventionstore.org

The required 21 year minimum-age sign must be posted by July 1, 2018.

ONLINE:  Free signs are available at www.mainepreventionstore.org

Maryland

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

Check the Maryland Department of Public Health, Maryland Responsible Tobacco Retailer Program website for the required sign, and how to obtain it.

Direct download of the new required Maryland sign is available here.

Check the Maryland Department of Public Health, Maryland Responsible Tobacco Retailer Program website for the required sign, and how to obtain it.

Direct download of the new required Maryland sign is available here.

Massachusetts

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact The Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Tobacco Control Program at 617-624-5900, or contact your local board of health.

ONLINE:   See state sign information here  

HARD COPY: Contact The Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Tobacco Control Program at 617-624-5900, or contact your local board of health.

ONLINE:   See state sign information here  

Michigan

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY:  Contact the Dept. of Health and Human Services. To order, contact the MDHHS Health Promotions Clearinghouse at 1-800-353-8227.

ONLINE: Download a pdf of the required Retailer Youth Tobacco Sign.   Note:  New law passed 6/4/19. New sign not available as of 8/20/19. Check back periodically.

HARD COPY:  Contact the Dept. of Health and Human Services. To order, contact the MDHHS Health Promotions Clearinghouse at 1-800-353-8227.

ONLINE: Download a pdf of the required Retailer Youth Tobacco Sign.   Note:  New law passed 6/4/19. New sign not available as of 8/20/19. Check back periodically.

Minnesota

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

NO SIGN REQUIRED

Mississippi

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

State does not provide signs.

State required wording:

State law prohibits the sale of tobacco products to persons under the age of 18 years. Proof of age required.

For more information, contact:

Mississippi State Department of Health Office of Tobacco Control

805 South Wheatley Blvd., Suite 400
Ridgeland, MS 39157
Office: 601-991-6050 Toll-free: 1-866-724-6115

For more information, contact:

Mississippi State Department of Health Office of Tobacco Control

805 South Wheatley Blvd., Suite 400
Ridgeland, MS 39157
Office: 601-991-6050 Toll-free: 1-866-724-6115

Missouri

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

For more information, contact:

Alcohol and Tobacco Control
1738 E. Elm Street
Lower Level
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Phone: (573) 751-5448

For more information, contact:

Alcohol and Tobacco Control
1738 E. Elm Street
Lower Level
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Phone: (573) 751-5448

Montana

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of Revenue. Sign provided free of charge by the Department of Revenue 406-444-6900 or 866-859-2254

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of Revenue. Sign provided free of charge by the Department of Revenue 406-444-6900 or 866-859-2254

Nebraska

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

NO SIGN REQUIRED

Nevada

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

State does not provide signs.

State required wording:

(a) the sale of cigarettes and other tobacco products to minors is prohibited by law; and

(b) the retailer may ask for proof of age to comply with this prohibition

For more information, contact:

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health

4150 Technology Way, STE 210

Carson City, NV 89706

Phone (775) 684-4261

For more information, contact:

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health

4150 Technology Way, STE 210

Carson City, NV 89706

Phone (775) 684-4261

New Hampshire

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

The New Hampshire Liquor Commission, when issuing or renewing a retail tobacco license, shall furnish the required signs.

Contact the New Hampshire Liquor Commission for the signs:

NHLC 
Bureau of Liquor Enforcement
10 Commercial Street
P.O. Box 1795
Concord, NH 03301
603-271-8531

The New Hampshire Liquor Commission, when issuing or renewing a retail tobacco license, shall furnish the required signs.

Contact the New Hampshire Liquor Commission for the signs:

NHLC 
Bureau of Liquor Enforcement
10 Commercial Street
P.O. Box 1795
Concord, NH 03301
603-271-8531

New Jersey

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of Health and Senior Services at 609-984-3317

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of Health and Senior Services at 609-984-3317

New Mexico

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of Health at 505-222-8618

HARD COPY: Contact the Department of Health at 505-222-8618

New York

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

The New York Dept. of Health (and/or the county level health departments) will be sending out all required signage before the November 13, 2019 effective date of the 21 year minimum age law.

ONLINE:  

The New York Dept. of Health (and/or the county level health departments) will be sending out all required signage before the November 13, 2019 effective date of the 21 year minimum age law.

The law requires retailers to post a white sign with red letters that are at least 1/2 inch in height must be conspicuously posted in retail establishments. Signs must state:

SALE OF CIGARETTES, CIGARS, CHEWING TOBACCO, POWDERED TOBACCO, SHISHA OR OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCTS, HERBAL CIGARETTES, LIQUID NICOTINE, ELECTRONIC CIGARETTES, ROLLING PAPERS OR SMOKING PARAPHERNALIA, TO PERSONS UNDER TWENTY-ONE YEARS OF AGE IS PROHIBITED BY LAW.

Businesses that sell bidis or gutka shall post in a conspicuous place a sign stating “SALE OF BIDIS (GUTKA) TO PERSONS UNDER TWENTY-ONE YEARS OF AGE IS PROHIBITED BY LAW” on a white card in red letters at least one­half inch in height.

Businesses that sell e-cigarettes/vaping products must post a vaping warning poster, available here.

Retailers who violate this requirement are subject to fines, arrest and jail. For the 1st violation, retailers are subject to a $300 to $1,000 fine. For subsequent violations, retailers are subject to a $500 to $1,500 fine. Further, the retailer shall be assigned two points per violation.

ONLINE: To download pdfs of the required NY state signs, go to this link:

https://www.health.ny.gov/prevention/tobacco_control/educational_materials.htm

For the NY City sign:  https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/csi/noid-prohibited-by-law.pdf

The New York Dept. of Health (and/or the county level health departments) will be sending out all required signage before the November 13, 2019 effective date of the 21 year minimum age law.

ONLINE:  

The New York Dept. of Health (and/or the county level health departments) will be sending out all required signage before the November 13, 2019 effective date of the 21 year minimum age law.

The law requires retailers to post a white sign with red letters that are at least 1/2 inch in height must be conspicuously posted in retail establishments. Signs must state:

SALE OF CIGARETTES, CIGARS, CHEWING TOBACCO, POWDERED TOBACCO, SHISHA OR OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCTS, HERBAL CIGARETTES, LIQUID NICOTINE, ELECTRONIC CIGARETTES, ROLLING PAPERS OR SMOKING PARAPHERNALIA, TO PERSONS UNDER TWENTY-ONE YEARS OF AGE IS PROHIBITED BY LAW.

Businesses that sell bidis or gutka shall post in a conspicuous place a sign stating “SALE OF BIDIS (GUTKA) TO PERSONS UNDER TWENTY-ONE YEARS OF AGE IS PROHIBITED BY LAW” on a white card in red letters at least one­half inch in height.

Businesses that sell e-cigarettes/vaping products must post a vaping warning poster, available here.

Retailers who violate this requirement are subject to fines, arrest and jail. For the 1st violation, retailers are subject to a $300 to $1,000 fine. For subsequent violations, retailers are subject to a $500 to $1,500 fine. Further, the retailer shall be assigned two points per violation.

ONLINE: To download pdfs of the required NY state signs, go to this link:

https://www.health.ny.gov/prevention/tobacco_control/educational_materials.htm

For the NY City sign:  https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/csi/noid-prohibited-by-law.pdf

North Carolina

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact the NC Alcohol Law Enforcement Division at 919-622-4500.

ONLINE: Download a pdf of required sign(s)

HARD COPY: Contact the NC Alcohol Law Enforcement Division at 919-622-4500.

ONLINE: Download a pdf of required sign(s)

North Dakota

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

NO SIGN REQUIRED

Ohio

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

The Ohio Dept. of Health has provided this sign - Download the Ohio sign

We recommend that retailers also Download and post a sign with the required language.

For addtional information, contact:

Ohio Department of Health

246 N. High St., Columbus, Ohio 43215

Phone: (614) 466-3543

The Ohio Dept. of Health has provided this sign - Download the Ohio sign

We recommend that retailers also Download and post a sign with the required language.

For addtional information, contact:

Ohio Department of Health

246 N. High St., Columbus, Ohio 43215

Phone: (614) 466-3543

Oklahoma

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact the ABLE
Commission, Legal Division, 4545
North Lincoln Blvd., Suite 270
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
Main Office: 405-521-3484

HARD COPY: Contact the ABLE
Commission, Legal Division, 4545
North Lincoln Blvd., Suite 270
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
Main Office: 405-521-3484

Oregon

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

For more information, Resources are listed as available here:

Download English or Spanish language signs -- available here

For more information, Resources are listed as available here:

Download English or Spanish language signs -- available here

Pennsylvania

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

NO SIGN REQUIRED

Rhode Island

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Exact duplicates may be made.

ONLINE: Download a pdf of required sign(s)

HARD COPY: Exact duplicates may be made.

ONLINE: Download a pdf of required sign(s)

South Carolina

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

NO SIGN REQUIRED

South Dakota

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

NO SIGN REQUIRED

Tennessee

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

ONLINE: Download a pdf of required sign

Texas

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY:  To request additional warning signs, call the Comptroller’s office toll-free at (800) 862-2260 and request publication number 96-536. 

NEW 21 year Law required Warning sign must be posted by Sept 1, 2019.

See Tobacco and E-Cigarette Sales Warning Signs and Vending Machine Warning Signs here.

HARD COPY:  To request additional warning signs, call the Comptroller’s office toll-free at (800) 862-2260 and request publication number 96-536. 

NEW 21 year Law required Warning sign must be posted by Sept 1, 2019.

See Tobacco and E-Cigarette Sales Warning Signs and Vending Machine Warning Signs here.

Utah

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

NO SIGN REQUIRED

Vermont

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

ONLINE: See "Mandatory" warning signs at the VT Liquor Control's publications website.  

ONLINE: See "Mandatory" warning signs at the VT Liquor Control's publications website.  

Virginia

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

New Virginia 21 year minimum-age sign - Post by July 1, 2019

ONLINE: Download a pdf of required sign.

New Virginia 21 year minimum-age sign - Post by July 1, 2019

ONLINE: Download a pdf of required sign.

Washington

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Information from the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board website indicates that required signs are available at no charge to licensees. To order, call the WSLCB Enforcement Customer Service Line at
(360) 664-9878 or email EnfCustomerService@lcb.wa.gov .

Images of the WSLCB signs are available here:  https://lcb.wa.gov/enforcement/required-signs#tobacco  

We Card has learned the new 21 year minimum-age signs may be available in October 2019.

WSLCB issued an "Immediate Action Required" alert on Oct. 10, 2019, telling retailers to print and prominently post this vapor warning sign in retail locations.  

HARD COPY: Information from the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board website indicates that required signs are available at no charge to licensees. To order, call the WSLCB Enforcement Customer Service Line at
(360) 664-9878 or email EnfCustomerService@lcb.wa.gov .

Images of the WSLCB signs are available here:  https://lcb.wa.gov/enforcement/required-signs#tobacco  

We Card has learned the new 21 year minimum-age signs may be available in October 2019.

WSLCB issued an "Immediate Action Required" alert on Oct. 10, 2019, telling retailers to print and prominently post this vapor warning sign in retail locations.  

Washington DC

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

For More information, contact:

Washington DC Department of Health

899 North Capitol Street, NE, Washington, DC 20002

(202) 442-5955

For More information, contact:

Washington DC Department of Health

899 North Capitol Street, NE, Washington, DC 20002

(202) 442-5955

West Virginia

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

NO SIGN REQUIRED

Wisconsin

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

State Does Not Provide Signs.

Retailers must post a sign in a conspicuous place that states that giving, selling, or otherwise distributing cigarettes or other tobacco products, or papers used to roll cigarettes, to a person under 18 years of age is prohibited by law.

For more information, contact:

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

608-266-0181.

For more information, contact:

Wisconsin Department of Health Services

608-266-0181.

Wyoming

See We Card State Law Summary and Read Disclaimer

HARD COPY: Contact the Wyoming Department of Health Substance Abuse Division at 1-800-535-4006

HARD COPY: Contact the Wyoming Department of Health Substance Abuse Division at 1-800-535-4006